Ominous Warning

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

.

.

Here lies a Hampshire Grenadier
Who caught his death
Drinking cold small beer.
A good soldier is ne’er forgot
Whether he dieth by musket
Or by pot.”

Ominous warning –
which I failed to heed.

.

.

BB p 1

.

In sobriety I have learned to heed those ominous warnings

which used to baffle me,those intuitive feelings

that if I pick up that first drink bad  things will begin to happen.

Oh, how many warnings did my Higher Power send me that I

failed to heed.

Parents, spouses, children, employers, lost friends, all of whom

warned me that if I did not change, things will only get worse,

and they did.

Today, heed the God advice, be it your own intuition

or your Higher Power talking to you through other people

and know that if you do not pick up that first drink

the promises of the Big Book will come true.

Recovery is one day at a time.

Sobriety is a blessing from our Higher Power.

.

ME and the Boss

.

And, if no one has told you yet today,

God loves you and so do we.

.

.

.

.

..

.

 

About michael_e

Retired in Florida, God's waiting room. Jack of all trades master of none...when I stop learning you can feed me to the fishes. Becoming a curmudgeon and learning to love it. View all posts by michael_e

Leave a Reply

